top of page

Can Miagao Captured My Heart?


Miagao Church

This is my first travel since I turned into a single woman. They say that traveling can heal your heart and will put yourself at whole, So as I curious brokenhearted woman of course I tried it. Good thing that god really want it to happen. Actually it’s just a drawing in my mind that seems impossible to color. On Friday, my boss told me to take a break on Monday since it was a holiday. And after that I become excited where would I take vacation or travel to. I searched every places near the Iloilo city so that it will be convenient for me to travel back and forth since I don’t want to stay overnight. Good thing I have this friend from Miagao that is willing to accommodate me just for a night so that I can taste the sweetness of Miagao. So Saturday evening we travel, we ride Ceres bus on Molo Terminal that will take us on Miagao. Expect 1 and a half hour travel. Fare on bus is PHP52 Pesos – Regular and PHP44 Pesos if Student.

 
Jora & Dyna

I woke up around 7 in the morning. I was surprised that he and his mom were already ready to start the day ahead while I’m just switching my body “on” for the day. It’s already 8:30 when I ready my things up to attend mass at Miagao Church with my another friend travelling in the morning in Miagao to be my travel buddy named Dyna.

Dyna became my everything since he left me. And now she’s travelling with me to find answers to my question “Why all of a sudden, hindi mo na ko mahal?”. Yes I’m so devastated. Breaking up with a 5 year relationship is so damnnn hurts. But since traveling can heal any wound, maybe it can heal mine.

 

After visiting the church to attend mass, of course we should have picture taking moment outside the one of the most beautiful church we’ve ever seen. Our shots are instagrammable because of the ambience, aura and even the exotic beauty of the place. We ate at bistro restaurant near at the church. (At dahil tipid kami, chaofan lang na tag 50 pesos ang binili namin.) We don’t need to be really full since it’s just a start of a day, maraming pang mapupuntahan, marami pang makakainan. Since travelling doesn't require spending thousands right? by the way, look how mesmerizing is the brown rocky background of the left photo. that's the texture of Miagao Church Outside Walls or also known as Santo Tomas de Villanueva Parish Church. The church's over-all architectural style falls under the Baroque Romanesque architectural style. Its ochre color is due to the materials used in constructing the church: adobe, egg, coral and limestone.

 
Miagao Plaza

After eating lunch, we walked to their plaza in front of the city hall. Medyo mainit pero push lang. We have a small chit chat about life, love, and everything under the super sun. Since she’s not that too familiar in using DSLR Cameras, I thought that this would be the perfect time to be her professor in Photography.

And for your curiosity and educational purposes, I’m using canon 1200D for capturing this beautiful moments and Adobe Lightroom for editing my raw pics. For me, it’s the best photo editor ever! It will look like your simple pictures into award winning photographs. Char! From Miagao plaza, we ride tricycle up to UP admin where the famous Oble stand and proud. *Fare - 7 Pesos

 

UP Miagao Campus got me like “Whoaah” I saw a place so peaceful and calm, makes me want to study again. Near Oble statue there’s a way to a little forest garden where we stay for a little while to rest, to touch up, and to take photos. We’re talking about which way we should go, to continue walking or to back in the main road and ask people around where is 100 steps? Since were already inside UP Campus, we decided to continue walking, discover University of the Philippine Campus on our own. As we walked into the road below the little forest thing of UP. We saw a beautiful naked statue carrying fish, Dyna and I looked it so intense cause she makes us so jealous of her figure. *Laugh. Since I'm curious who's that seductive lady standing in front of College of Fisheries & Ocean Sciences. Syempre I google it. She's the diwata ng dagat made and sculpted by Napoleon V. Abueva, father of modern Philippine sculpture and national artist for sculpture (1976).

 
University of Philippines Miagao Campus

This is taken on the hallway in front of UPV Library. Since I have a photographic eyes. *HAHA. Anu daw? I know that these hallway would really look like a magnificent background for a portrait. And tadahhh here it is.

It’s my favorite picture for this Miag-ao escapade. Sagad sagad na gd ya si dyna magkwa picture, sagad man prof nya mu. Lol. If you’re trying to go to Miagao, please visit UP Campus. It would be all worth it. Get ready to pose everywhere, because everywhere is so instagrammable. Mas instagrammable sana kung may kasama ako na boylet, pero wala eh. Wala. Haha.

 
UP Bridge

After Hallway at UPV Library, we walk through a bridge stay there for a minute just looking at the cars passing by. Our goal is to find the 100 steps recommended by my office mate. So just like dory, we keep on walking until we saw stairs downward, it’s just like a hallway. Long hallway with stairs between. TIP: If you want to visit the 100 steps at Miagao campus, just keep waking through the shed until it leads you to the back of the building. then you will something just like on the 1st pic below. 100 steps keeps me calm, makes me feel the pain, makes me to wonder why, makes me think what is happening.. Good thing I have dyna with me because I know without her, for sure I will not able to make this travel blog.

 

Do you know where the hundred steps will lead you? To the amazing beach front of UP Miagao Campus. It’s so satisfying for me to hear crashing waves as if it was a music ready to be danced. How I wish that this experience would be just like my reality. I never knew where god will leads me, all I know that there’s something more big that what I had right now that will occur in the near future. God is full of surprises right? Dyna and I stay at the beach front for a half hour. We make fun at each other by describing ourselves, how could a two persons with different personalities collide harmoniously? How were so opposite but still believes on each other? Dyna never been in a relationship, like really never. In short, she’s NBSB No boyfriend since birth. While me, I’ve been in a 5 year relationship. Never been single since 14 I guess. The one best thing that happen right now is that we were both in the same shoes. Single and ready to conquer the world!

 
Homemade ice cream

Why not try to end the trip by eating ice cream at the buko restaurant near UP Miagao. It costs 35 pesos for 5 scoops of homemade ice cream. Masarap bes! And if you’re asking if miagao captured my heart? :) Certainly YES!

Overall Expenses

Transportation - PHP107

Food - PHP85

Total - PHP157

"Saan aabot ang PHP192 mo?"

Comments


You Might Also Like:

Jora, The Explorer

Exploring & Discovering New Places

bottom of page